Scottish Football Historical Archive


Search this site
The Winners
Scottish League
Other Leagues SeniorJuniorAmateurJuvenile
The War Years
Representative Matches
Club Directory
Site Map
Website Builder

Glasgow and West of Scotland League

In the late 1890s, the Scottish League fixture list ran to only 18 games. Because of this several clubs banded together to form supplementary competitions. One of these was the Glasgow & West of Scotland League. Formed in April 1898, its original line-up consisted of St Mirren (the first champions), Ayr, Kilmarnock, Morton, Port Glasgow Athletic, Abercorn, Linthouse as well as a non-League member, Ayr Parkhouse. The latter three all left at the end of the season, and were replace by Clyde. 1899-1900 saw the only time the title was shared, when Morton and Kilmarnock finished equal on points. Morton won it outright the following season, but they had to fight to get it. Only two points separated the top five clubs as the table below shows.

In 1902-03, Motherwell and Airdrieonians replaced St Mirren and Partick Thistle, both of whom left to join another supplementary competition, the Inter City League. At the end of that season, the former both finished top with 13 points but it was Motherwell who triumphed on goal average. Airdrieonians left after this season, being replaced by Hamilton Academical – the last change in the league’s membership until it disbanded in 1906.

The steady expansion of the Scottish League after 1902 made it increasingly difficult for clubs to fulfil their fixtures, with the result that many games either had to be held over until the following season or double up as Scottish League matches with points counting towards both competitions.

The final blow for the league eventually fell after the Scottish League’s AGM on 23 May 1906. Hamilton Academical and Clyde were both elected into an expanded 18-club First Division. With all six Western League clubs in the top flight, this would have made it near impossible to fit in ten extra fixtures on top of a heavy League and Cup programme and the league was disbanded in September 1906. In January 1907, a tournament was held to decide which club would retain the championship shield. It was perhaps fitting that Clyde, who won most outright championships, won that competition.

The accompanying results grids were researched and compiled by Stuart Robertson ©, with some final tables supplied by Stewart Davidson.

CLICK HERE for results and final tables.

1898-99 St Mirren
1899-00 Morton & Kilmarnock
1900-01 Morton
1901-02 Port Glasgow Athletic
1902-03 Motherwell
1903-04 Hamilton Academical
1904-05 Clyde
1905-06 Kilmarnock

1906-07 Clyde