Scottish Football Historical Archive


Search this site
The Winners
Scottish League
Other Leagues
Cups InternationalNationalRegionalCountyDistrictCharity
The War Years
Representative Matches
Club Directory
Site Map
Website Builder

Irvine Herald Cup

The Irvine Herald Association was set up in 1893 under the auspices of the local newspaper of that name. Until the outbreak of the intermediate dispute in 1927 most clubs involved belonged to the northern half of Ayrshire. The breakaway clubs in 1927 competed in a “substitute Herald cup” for the intermediate grade. A trophy was put up by Mr John Stirling of the Red Lion Hotel, Prestwick. This was known as the Stirling Trophy and existed for the four seasons of the dispute. In the meantime a rump of the Ayrshire clubs, mostly from the southern half of the county played out at least a couple of seasons of the original cup. When the dispute ended in 1931 a final season of the original cup was contested, involving the reinstated clubs. In 1932 the tournament was discontinued when the Irvine Herald Association was merged with the Irvine & District Association.
In 1909 Ardeer Thistle were allowed to keep the original trophy on winning it for a third time. Any subsequent club would be required to win the trophy three times on the trot to keep it. As it turned out this never happened.

1893-94 Vale of Garnock
1894-95 Troon
1895-96 Overton Thistle
1896-97 Irvine Caledonia
1897-98 Montgreenan Rangers
1898-99 Irvine Meadow XI
1899-00 Newmilns
1900-01 Stewarton
1901-02 Rugby XI
1902-03 Ardeer Thistle
1903-04 Kilwinning Rangers
1904-05 Darvel
1905-06 Newmilns
1906-07 Kilbirnie Ladeside
1907-08 Ardeer Thistle
1908-09 Ardeer Thistle
1909-10 Newmilns
1910-11 Kilwinning Rangers
1911-12 Ardrossan Winton Rovers
1912-13 Kilbirnie Ladeside
1913-14 Kilwinning Rangers
1914-15 Irvine Meadow XI
1915-16 Ardeer Thistle
1916-1919 no competition
1919-20 Irvine Victoria
1920-21 Kilwinning Rangers
1921-22 Ardeer Thistle
1922-23 Kilwinning Rangers
1923-24 Kilbirnie Ladeside
1924-25 Irvine Meadow XI
1925-26 Kilwinning Rangers
1926-27 Kilwinning Rangers        
1927-28    no competition
1928-29    no competition
1929-30 Auchinleck Talbot           
1930-31 Auchinleck Talbot           
1931-32 Ardrossan Winton Rovers