Scottish Football Historical Archive


Search this site
The Winners
Scottish League
Other Leagues
Cups InternationalNationalRegionalCountyDistrictCharity
The War Years
Representative Matches
Club Directory
Site Map
Website Builder

Lanarkshire Consolation Cup

Senior county competition open to members of the Lanarkshire FA that were eliminated during the early rounds of the Lanarkshire Cup, first played in 1889-90. The trophy was donated by the Coatbridge Express, a local newspaper. The trophy was later reused as the Express Cup from 1909 until 1927.


1889-90 Carfin Shamrock
1890-91 Burnbank Swifts
1891-92 Royal Albert
1892-93 Motherwell
1893-94 Albion Rovers
1894-95 Royal Albert
1895-96 Airdrieonians
1896-97 Hamilton Academical
1897-98 Longriggend
1898-99 Wishaw Thistle
1899-00 Dykehead




First round 

26 Apr Carfin Shamrock v Uddingston 3-3

29 Apr Carfin Shamrock v Uddingston 1-0

15 Apr Wishaw Thistle v Whifflet Shamrock wo-scr friendly played as Whifflet had scratched because of a lack of players, score 7-0

Coatbridge Athletic v Motherwell

Airdrieonians, Albion Rovers, Airdriehill, Hamilton Academical and Clydesdale byes


Second round 

30 Apr Airdrieonians v Wishaw Thistle 3-2

12 Jun Carfin Shamrock v Airdriehill 8-0

30 Apr Motherwell v Clydesdale 4-2

30 May Albion Rovers v Hamilton Academical 8-0



Motherwell v Albion Rovers 5-4 protest

11 Jun Motherwell v Albion Rovers 2-1

21 Jun Carfin Shamrock v Airdrieonians 4-1 at Airdrie


Final at Meadow Park, Coatbridge

Carfin Shamrock v Motherwell 4-1



First round

28 Mar Clydesdale v Albion Rovers 3-6

28 Mar Royal Albert v Plains 6-0

28 Mar Hamilton Academical v Wishaw Thistle 2-3

            Motherwell Shamrock v Airdriehill

            Clarkston v Burnbank Swifts

            Uddingston v Whifflet Shamrock

            Glengowan v Shettleston Swifts

            Carfin Shamrock v Hamilton Harp

Motherwell bye


Second round

             Motherwell v Albion Rovers

Rest byes


Third round

25 Apr Hamilton Harp v Motherwell 0-7

25 Apr Wishaw Thistle v Uddingston 6-3

25 Apr Royal Albert v Burnbank Swifts 2-2

25 Apr Airdriehill v Glengowan 2-0 friendly as the referee didnít appear



> 19 May Airdriehill v Wishaw Thistle (awarded to Airdriehill after a protest)

                Burnbank Swifts v Motherwell


Final at Meadow Park, Whifflet

23 May Burnbank Swifts v Airdriehill 9-1





First round

26 Mar Wishaw Thistle v Carfin Hibernian wo-scr friendly played, score 3-0. Abandoned after 45 mins due to weather conditions

26 Mar Hamilton Academicals v Albion Rovers 2-6

26 Mar Dykehead v Motherwell 6-0 abandoned at half-time due to a snowstorm

30 Apr Dykehead v Motherwell 3-1


Second round

27 Apr Albion Rovers v Wishaw Thistle 1-0

30 Apr Carfin Shamrock v Burnbank Swifts 0-1

            Royal Albert


Semi-final Ė 2 legs

7 May Royal Albert v Albion Rovers 3-5

11 May Albion Rovers v Royal Albert 0-4

Burnbank Swifts v Dykehead

Dykehead v Burnbank Swifts


Final at Meadow Park, Whifflet

28 May Royal Albert v Burnbank Swifts 3-0




First round

18 Mar Burnbank Swifts v Royal Albert 3-5

18 Mar Hamilton Academical v Carfin Shamrock 9-1 protest

25 Mar Hamilton Academical v Carfin Shamrock 5-1

25 Mar Motherwell v Hamilton Harp 3-0


Second round

15 Apr Royal Albert v Dykehead 6-0

15 Apr Airdriehill v Hamilton Academical 3-5

Motherwell and Albion Rovers byes


Semi final

29 Apr Royal Albert v Motherwell 2-3

29 Apr Hamilton Academical Albion Rovers 1-2


Final at Broomfield Park, Airdrie

20 May Motherwell v Albion Rovers 4-1




First round

17 Mar Wishaw Thistle v Hamilton Harp 10-0

7 Apr Motherwell v Airdrieonians 2-3

Albion Rovers v Dykehead 8-2

24 Mar Airdriehill v Hamilton Academical 6-4


Second round

Albion Rovers v Glengowan 12-0



12 May Albion Rovers v Wishaw Thistle 2-0



Final at Meadow Park, Whifflet

26 May Albion Rovers v Airdriehill 4-0





4 May Royal Albert v Albion Rovers 8-4

18 May Hamilton Academical v Burnbank Swifts 1-2


Final at Dalziel Park, Motherwell

25 May Royal Albert v Burnbank Swifts 4-3




First round

                Glengowan v Hamilton Harp

                Burnbank Swifts v Hamilton Academical

21 Mar Airdrieonians v Wishaw Thistle 2-0

                Airdriehill v Motherwell

21 Mar Albion Rovers v Blantyre 3-2

Dykehead bye


Second round

18 Apr Albion Rovers v Hamilton Harp wo-scr friendly played, score 6-2




Airdrieonians v Albion Rovers 2-0







First round

3 Apr Wishaw Thistle v Blantyre 6-3

Albion Rovers v Motherwell 3-1 protest

Albion Rovers v Motherwell wo-scr

14 Apr Hamilton Academical v Airdriehill 5-0

           Glengowan v Royal Albert

           Burnbank Swifts v Dykehead


Second round





28 Apr Wishaw Thistle v Hamilton Academical 1-5

8 May Royal Albert v Albion Rovers 3-2



13 May Royal Albert v Hamilton Academical 1-1 at Old Public Park, Wishaw

15 May Hamilton Academical v Royal Albert 2-1 at    Meadow Park, Whifflet




First round

26 Mar Royal Albert v Dykehead 3-2

26 Mar Motherwell v Hamilton Academical 0-0

2 Apr Hamilton Academical v Motherwell



Albion Rovers v Carfin 0-0

Carfin v Albion Rovers 1-4



Final at Broomfield Park, Airdrie

28 Apr Longriggend v Albion Rovers 3-1



First round

4 Mar Wishaw Thistle v Dykehead 6-0

Uddingston v Royal Albert

Albion Rovers v Carfin

Glengowan v Airdrieonians

East Lanarkshire v Hamilton Academical

Itís possible that few of these ties were played. The Lanarkshire League, which was formed this year, seems to have taken preference



8 Apr Uddingston v Wishaw Thistle 1-1

15 Apr Wishaw Thistle v Uddingston 3-0



29 Apr Wishaw Thistle v East Lanarkshire 1-1 also reported as  2-2, at Douglas Park, Hamilton

8 May Wishaw Thistle v East Lanarkshire 1-1 at Fir Park, Motherwell

12 May Wishaw Thistle v East Lanarkshire 3-0 at Fir Park, Motherwell




First round

10 Mar Royal Albert v Carfin Emmet 2-1

Longriggend v Glengowan

Hamilton Academical v Dykehead scr-wo

Uddingston, Airdrieonians, Wishaw, East Lanarkshire and Wishaw Thistle byes

Motherwell indicated they would not take part and were excluded from the draw


Second round

24 Mar Wishaw Thistle v Royal Albert 4-0

24 Mar Wishaw v Uddingston 5-1



14 Apr Wishaw v Longriggend

21 Apr Longriggend v Wishaw 2-3

14 Apr Dykehead v Wishaw Thistle

21 Apr Wishaw Thistle v Dykehead 0-2


Final at Douglas Park, Hamilton

28 Apr Dykehead v Wishaw 4-3